Top 10 films about a Post Apocalypse

In my on going quest to name my favourite movie (See here). I thought I would tackle one of my favourite types of film, the apocalypse movie. However there are so many to choose from. I have therefore narrowed down the options for this list to just films about living in a Post Apocalyptic world.

Here are my choices:

10.  Zombieland (2009)

Zombieland

Cause of Apocalypse – Zombies

Why this movie stands out for me – The style, the coolness, the comedy and one of the best cameos.

I enjoyed seeing this actor in it – Bill Murray

Great quote – Columbus: Are you one of these guys that tries to one-up everybody else’s story?

Tallahassee: No. I knew a guy way worse at that than me.

9.  They Live (1988)

They Live

Cause of Apocalypse – Aliens

Why this movie stands out for me – Longest fight, Tongue-in-cheek-ness, The kick ass action, The idea of the story (they’re already here and we don’t know)

I enjoyed seeing this actor in it – Keith David

Great quote – I came here to chew bubblegum and kick ass, and I’m all out of bubblegum.

8. I am Legend (2007)

i am legend

Cause of Apocalypse – Virus induced Vampiric Zombies

Why this movie stands out for me – The style, the coolness, the story, the dog

I enjoyed seeing this actor in it – The Dog

Great quote – Neville: [after his outburst scares Anna and Ethan] It’s just… I was saving that bacon!

 

7. WALL-E (2008)

Wall-e

Cause of Apocalypse – Consumerism

Why this movie stands out for me – The Animation, the attention to detail, the heart in the story.

I enjoyed seeing this actor in it – John Ratzenberger

Great quoteShip’s Computer: [advertising bodysuits] Try blue, it’s the new red!

 

6. 12 Monkeys (1995)

 Twelve monkeys

Cause of Apocalypse – Virus

Why this movie stands out for me – The Premise – The direction – The style

I enjoyed seeing this actor in it  – David Morse

Great quote – Jeffrey Goines: There’s no right, there’s no wrong, there’s only popular opinion.

 

5. When the Wind Blows (1986)

 

Cause of Apocalypse – Nuclear Bomb

Why this movie stands out for me – The animation, The humour, The British-ness, The story is so beautiful yet so sad.

I enjoyed seeing this actor in it – John Mills

Great quoteHilda: [as she hears a radio announcement about an imminent nuclear missile attack] Oh dear, I’d better bring the washing in.

 

4. The Matrix (1999)

 The Matrix

Cause of Apocalypse – Machines

Why this movie stands out for me – The Style, The Action, The Idea behind the story, The coolness

I enjoyed seeing this actor in itJoe Pantoliano

Great quote – Tank: Door on your left.

[Neo goes right]

Tank: Your other left.

 

3. The Planet of the Apes (1968)

planet-of-the-apes

Cause of Apocalypse – Intelligent Ape uprising

Why this movie stands out for me – The Apes, the Idea behind the Story, The macho

I enjoyed seeing this actor in it – Charlton Heston (gotta love the Hest)

Great quoteGeorge Taylor: Take your stinking paws off me, you damned dirty ape!

 

2. 28 days later (2002)

 28-Days-Later

Cause of Apocalypse – Zombies

Why this movie stands out for me – The bleakness of it all, the tension,  the premise.

I enjoyed seeing this actor in it – Brendan Gleeson

Great quote – Frank: You’d never think it. Needing rain so badly. Not in fucking England!

 

1. Children of men (2006)

 children-of-men

Cause of ApocalypseHuman Infertility

Why this movie stands out for me – The realism, The premise, the direction, the cinematography, the bleakness, the acting, the story.

I enjoyed seeing this actor in it – Chiwetel Ejiofor

Great quoteJasper: Pull my finger

 

·         Special mention for ‘The Stand’ as this was a mini series. But I think it is a terrific epic piece about life after the apocalypse.

             The Stand

Please check out Sudo One’s Blog, before the end of the world

P

About residentweebler
Short Story Writer and Opinionated observer. Visit my blog for all this and more. https://theresidentweeble.wordpress.com/

2 Responses to Top 10 films about a Post Apocalypse

  1. SudoOne says:

    Amazingly being the film guy you know I’m not I’ve seen most of these. Intrigued by ‘when the wind blows’ as much for the music as the story. Bowie / Waters combo!
    Special mention for Threads TV movie from 1984. Watched in English class that was good.

  2. Yeah, ‘When the wind blows’ is heartbreakingky amazing. Good shout out on ‘Threads’ that was bizzarely terrifying for the time.

Leave a Reply

