The Secret to NaNoWriMo

image

National Novel Writing Month or NaNoWriMo as it’s generally known is tough. Anyone who has attempted it will tell you that.

The Challenge is to write a Novel in 30 days during the month of November (other months are also available).

Many people are striving away this month at doing it, and good luck to them. I tried this challenge a few years back. I read the book with all the tips.

Aim for a 50,000 word novel, that’s only 1,667 words a day.

Set your time in to red, amber and green areas in order to achieve it.

It shows that you can still hold down your daily job and still get it done.

And many more including deadlines which I probably shore have paid more attention to (more on that in a bit). It is a motivating book and I recommend it. It’s called ‘No Plot No Problem’.

After reading this in the summer I was more than up for going for it. So much so I managed to book November off Work for Annual leave. I was committed to this.

I thought If people do this whilst doing there day job and I have the time off this should be a breeze.

I failed.

Instead I managed to:

  • Paint 3 ‘Chad valley’ paint and grow magic eggs with some very nice design (I won them in a raffle)
  • To drink to much booze. Mainly whisky, I thought it would be cool.  hmmm
  • To stay up a little later each night before going to bed, got to that half way stage of sleeping all day and being up all night until I achieved a full circuit of losing a day and got back to normal.

I also managed to come up with the beginnings of several stories and an idea that I was finally happy with.

I reflected back after my failure to where I went wrong, and from my experience at least this is the secret.

1) Get an idea before you start and stick to it.

2) Most importantly, find a way to stick to your deadlines, whether they be daily, weekly or the whole month. I think the best way to do this, is to do the challenge with a friend who you don’t want to let down.

That friend for me is Sudo One. He is the reason I am doing a blog a day for this month and sticking to it. And maybe next November we will both do the NaNoWriMo challenge together.

Here’s drinking a whisky to you Sudo One

About residentweebler
Short Story Writer and Opinionated observer. Visit my blog for all this and more. https://theresidentweeble.wordpress.com/

One Response to The Secret to NaNoWriMo

  1. SudoOne says:

    I’m touched genuinely. Thank you for your kind words. I am very pleased to be somewhat of a muse for you hopefully we bring out the best creatively in each other. Additionally writing is a solitary pursuit, so even for an anti-social git like me it is great to be able to bounce ideas off someone else.

Leave a Reply

