Top 10 ‘Working in an Office’ films

My adult life has mainly consisted of doing various types of office jobs from working at a Newspaper, to the cut throat world of Sales. Oooh it sounds exciting, all that edgy journalism where your neck is on the line and a sales job where you must be number one! Well, it’s a lot duller than it sounds, the Newspaper was local, I worked in the property letting section and I found the sales work a-moral and unscrupulous and left for those reasons.  

My day job still consists of office work and I’m happy with it to a point, but it can never quite compare to the action packed movies and all the excitement they have in them, Although sometimes the movies decide to make a film about the day job. I mean, yeah, they spice it up a bit with some kind of twist, but I’ve always enjoyed this type of movie as I can relate to it. So I thought I would give you my top ten office based movies.

10 – Nine to Five (1980)

Nine-to-Five

Office Type – Admin / Secretarial

What stands out for me – The comedy, for lightheartedly highlighting male chauvinism in the work place, the crazy dream sequences.

I enjoyed seeing this actor in it – Lilly Tomlin

Great quoteViolet: I have to go shopping. We’re running out of everything: cat food, fish food, ant spray, rat poison.

 

9 – Boiler Room (2000)

Boiler room

Office Type – Sales

What stands out for me – The performances (yes even Vin Diesel and Ben Affleck), The ethics at work, the dialogue.

I enjoyed seeing this actor in it – Giovanni Ribisi

Great quoteMan on phone: Take me off your list.

Seth Davis: Fine, fine. I’m gonna take you off my list of successful people today.

 

8 – The Secret of my Success (1987)

The_Secret_Of_My Success

Office Type – Executives in the 80’s

What stands out for me – The cheesy 80’s ness, The comedy, The feel good factor.

I enjoyed seeing this actor in it – Richard Jordan (of ‘Dune’ fame)

Great quote – Christy Wills: [Groans in frustration] Why do you keep saying the exact opposite of what I say?

Brantley Foster: Because you keep saying such stupid things.

 

7 – Working Girl (1988)

Working Girl

Office Type – Secretarial and Executive

What stands out for me – The underdog-ness, The witty script, The coolness of Harrison Ford, The feel good factor.

I enjoyed seeing this actor in it – Joan Cusack

Great quote – Cynthia: Can I get ya anything? Coffee? Tea? Me?

 

6 – Clerks (1994)

Clerks

Office Type – Shop work (I know this isn’t strictly office work, how it shows the banality of the daily slog felt quite fitting

What stands out for me – the banality of the daily slog with it’s sometimes bizzare boredom based conversations.

I enjoyed seeing this actor in it – Jason Mewes

Great quote – Dante Hicks: I’m not even supposed to be here today!

 

5 – All the President’s Men (1976)

All the President’s Men

Office Type – Newspaper Journalism

What stands out for me – The reveal of the cover-up, the tension,  The deadlines, The performances, The truth behind the story. 

I enjoyed seeing this actor in it – Jason Robards 

Great quote – Bob Woodward: Excuse me, what is your name? I’m Bob Woodward, of the Washington Post.

Markham: Markham.

Bob Woodward: Markham. Mr. Markham, are you here in connection with the Watergate burglary?

Markham: I’m not here.

4 – Big (1988)

BigTomHanks

Office Type – (Toys) Admin and Executive

What stands out for me – The twist on youthal ideas in the work place. The comedy,

I enjoyed seeing this actor in it – John Lovitz

Great quote – Scotty Brennen: See that girl over there in the red? Say “hi” to her and she’s yours. She’ll have her legs around you so tight you’ll be begging for mercy.

Josh: Well, I’ll stay away from her, then.

3 – Network (1976)

Network

Office Type – Television network 

What stands out for me – The prophetic nature of the film, The acting, the point of the film. 

I enjoyed seeing this actor in it – Peter Finch 

Great quote (there are so many)Howard Beale: Television is not the truth. Television is a goddamned amusement park.

 

2 – Office Space (1999)

Office-space

Office Type – TPS Reports and such like

What stands out for me – The Characters, The well observed comedy of the office

I enjoyed seeing this actor in it – Gary Cole  and Stephen Root

Great quote – Bill Lumbergh: Oh, oh, and I almost forgot. Ahh, I’m also gonna need you to go ahead and come in on Sunday, too…

 

1 – Glengarry Glen Ross (1992)

 Glengarry Glen Ross

Office Type – Hard Sales 

What stands out for me – The Characters, The acting, The realisim, The bleakness.

I enjoyed seeing this actor in it –  Alec Baldwin

Great quote – Blake: You got leads. Mitch & Murray paid good money. Get their names to sell them. You can’t close the leads you’re given, you can’t close shit, *you are* shit, hit the bricks pal, and beat it, ’cause you are going *out*.

Shelley Levene: The leads are weak.

Blake: “The leads are weak.” The fucking leads are weak? You’re weak. I’ve been in this business fifteen years…

Dave Moss: What’s your name?

Blake: Fuck you. That’s my name.

 

 

Try Sudo One’s Blog. Have I sold you?

About residentweebler
Short Story Writer and Opinionated observer. Visit my blog for all this and more. https://theresidentweeble.wordpress.com/

One Response to Top 10 ‘Working in an Office’ films

  1. SudoOne says:

    Again you have given me more movies I need to watch. Delighted that Network and Office Space made the list as these are in my top 5 too. Always a sucker for affirmation

Leave a Reply

